feature

Height of success measured with height?

 

Senior Jimmy Mason and junior Micah Warren tower over freshman Sean Anton as they discuss their plans for success. Photo by Alex Montgomery

Marlene Miranda
feature editor

   In a fair and just world, people would be hired based on their abilities and competence relevant to the position they are applying for. However, that is  ot the case. Apparently, if one is vertically challenged, one’s goals may be far from reach.

   “It’s like judging a book by its cover a bit. I would think taller people are looked at as leaders because of the strength and prestige that’s thought when we see people who are tall. Those who are shorter people have to physically look up at those who are taller. I feel like even if two people had the same credentials for a job they’re applying for, the taller person has a  better chance of being notice,” Joshua Patterson, junior, said.

   In 2003, psychologist Timothy A. Judge of the University of Florida, along with researcher Daniel Cable from the University of North Carolina conducted a longitudinal study that followed  participants from childhood to adulthood. They  analyzed aspects of both their work and personal lives. The study found that about each extra inch above average height resulted in $789 a year. Judge  explained a possible hypothesis for this, stating that tall people have great self-esteem in comparison to those who are shorter. Also, people usually view taller people as more authoritative.

   “I’m only 4’11”. People always comment on my height. Those who are taller than me pat me on the head. I don’t mind it too much, but I feel if I were a few inches taller, people would take me seriously,” Hannah Hedriana, junior, said.

   In the study, height mainly effected jobs that involved social activity, such as careers in management and sales.

   “I’m 5’3” and I don’t think I’m that short. However, I feel super intimidated when I’m surrounded by taller people. I feel so small when I see someone looking down on me, I think that’s why it’s so easy to kind of listen to  taller person, you feel like they’re overpowering,” Gabriela Rosado, senior, said.

  Studies have shown that taller men are more successful overall in life. Corporate CEOs and managers tend to be taller than average. Height even comes up as a factor when national leaders are elected. William McKinley, who stood at 5’7”, was the last US president to be shorter than the average man.

   “It comes back to this natural reaction we have. First and foremost, the  physical movement of picking your head and looking up to someone automatically gives them [taller people] a sense of power,” Samantha Reeves, AP psychology teacher, said. “If you look at evolutionary studies, the bigger animals have more power, more strength. As humans, we take that with the  ame amount as force. Larger people have more power. We don’t equate weight wise, we equate height with more power. The taller you are, the more  power you have.

DO NOT COMMENT

