front page / news

Forever young, I want to be forever young…

Senior remembers key moments before sendoff

Heather Montgomery, senior, shows her school spirit in her gown. Photo by Emily Broaddus

Heather Montgomery
editor-in-chief 

   Throughout my life, I have always looked ahead. I could not wait to get to the next big step in life; riding a bike, going to middle school, seeing PG-13 movies by myself, driving a car and graduating high school. Yet, time and time again, I was always reminded my mother, “Don’t grow up too fast.”

At the end of my junior year, I dreaded going back to school after the summer. With my upperclassmen friends going away to college, I was already tasting the freedom of being a high school graduate.

For the first few weeks of senior year, I wished that the year was already over. I did not want to sit through another year of boring classes with the same people. I just wanted to be in college already.

Be careful what you wish for, because my wish definitely  came true. Senior year flew by so quickly and now that graduation is on the horizon, I’m beginning to realize everything I’m going to miss.

I’m going to miss everything. I’m going to miss the long hours of volleyball practice after school and the butterfly drill. I’m going to miss dog-piling after winning the school’s first district championship for girls soccer. I’m going to miss standing in front of 25 talented student-journalists as we plan another issue of  Predator. I’m even going to miss battling the traffic on Bruce B. Downs to rush home at the end of the day. But, most importantly, I’m going to miss all  the friends I’ve made along the way.

Now that we are graduating, we are all parting our separate ways. Some will be a few minutes down the road, while others will be traveling miles and miles away. It will be so hard for me to adjust to not being able to see my friends everyday while I’m off at  Clemson University, but I have faith that our paths will cross again someday.

Although it’s heartbreaking that this chapter of my life is now ending, I  can’t help but smile when I think of all the memories I’ve made. There is not one thing I would change about the past four years.

So, underclassmen, the next time you wish that you were all grown up, please just stop and enjoy the moment.

You’ll miss it one day.

DO NOT COMMENT

